What states allow lady bird deeds?

Lady Bird deeds, also known as enhanced life estate deeds, are recognized in a few states in the United States. The following states allow Lady Bird deeds:

  1. Florida: Lady Bird Deeds have been recognized in Florida since the 1980s.

  2. Texas: Lady Bird deeds are recognized in Texas, often called transfer on death deeds.

  3. Michigan: Michigan recognized Lady Bird Deeds in 2014.

  4. Vermont: Vermont enacted legislation in 2018 that recognized Lady Bird Deeds.

  5. West Virginia: West Virginia enacted legislation in 2019 recognizing Lady Bird Deeds.

It's important to note that the laws governing Lady Bird deeds can vary by state, so it's essential to consult with a qualified attorney to ensure that a Lady Bird deed is right for your specific circumstances and is executed in compliance with all applicable laws and regulations.

Published: Nov 8, 2022

Updated: Mar 29, 2023

Search among the most frequently asked questions